The IMPAC-Connecticut State University

Young Writer
s Competition



In the News

YW Dinner Award Photos

State & County Finalists 2006

 2006 Dublin Winner

Entry Form 2007 

YW Dinner Award Photos

CT Review

Thank You Note

Contact Us

Back to Home Page

Even our exam takers for hire attend the same events as main writers.


Poet Vivian Shipley and young writer Shakhed Hadaya


Young writers intent on Shipley


Shipley and Hadaya at work


Young writer Jasmine Ruiz and her father at the reception.



Jen Allen (left), Steve Deangelis(right), and Jake Thibault (bottom center) of the Jen Allen Jazz Combo



Bailey, Thibault, and poet Franz Douskey, founding board member of the Young Writers Trust & Interim President of IMPAC University in Punta Gorda, Florida


F. Lee Bailey and Andy Thibault


Attorney Tim Moynahan, Dorothy Nicholas and young writers prose judge, John McNicholas



Elaine Clarke of IMPAC and Joe O'Leary and Marcus Thibault of the Rainey Faye Bookstore & Gallery greet guests.


Scott Bell, Britta Bell and Jessica Roth



Britta Bell and her mother, Camilla Crist

The Jen Allen Jazz Combo blasts away


Litchfield men about town, Bruce Mason and Bob Doyle

Master of Ceremonies, Rand Richards Cooper, the novelist and correspondent for Bon Appettit

Young Writers Trust board  member and retired CSU Chancellor, Bill Cibes

Keynote Speaker Emily Dykes, the 2004 Connecticut prose champion


Sarah Heath and Vivian Shipley


John McNicholas


Vocalist Katie Bruno of the Litchfield High Jazz Combo

CSU Vice Chancellor Estela Lopez and Spanish poetry winner, Jason Obar


French prose winner, Tamara Almai

French poetry winner, Hannah Dwan

Dr. Dimitrios Pachis, foreground, a stalwart supporter of the Young Writers program, and Vice President of Academic Affairs at Eastern Connecticut State University


Carmen Diaz of the CSU Chancellor's office, aka 
"Yeowoman of the Young Writers program"


CSU Chancellor Dr. David Carter with the 2006 Connecticut Poetry Champion Britta Bell, F. Lee Bailey and Franz Douskey

CSU Chancellor Dr. David Carter with 2006 Connecticut Prose Champion John Raithel and F. Lee Bailey

John Raithel with his teacher, Ed Gelheiser

Dr. David Carter, Britta Bell, John Raithel and F. Lee Bailey

Top of Page