The IMPAC-Connecticut State University

Young Writer
s Competition




Entry Form

Contact Us

Thank You Note

Back to In the News


8th Annual Young Writers Dinner
Courant Books Editor
May 22, 2005

The 8th annual IMPAC-CSU Young Writers Dinner will take place June 5 at the Litchfield Inn.

The program sponsors competitions for student poets and writers in Connecticut, and the winners from each county each receive $1,000. The overall top poet and writer receive additional $1,000 prizes at the dinner.

The program, a collaboration of IMPAC, a productivity improvement firm that also sponsors the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and the Connecticut State University system has attracted more than 3,000 participants and awarded more than $116,000 since it began in 1998.

Keynote speakers will be poet Jennifer Steele, a former winner and a senior at Howard University, and Ravi Shankar, poet-in-residence at Central Connecticut State University. Diane Smith of WTIC-AM (1080) is master of ceremonies.

The event includes workshops at 4 p.m., a reception at 5 p.m. and a dinner at 6:30 p.m., The cost is $35. Reservations are recommended by Monday.

For information or a reservation call 800-814-6931 or e-mail [email protected] .

Contact Carole Goldberg at [email protected]. Copyright 2005, Hartford Courant

Top of Page