The IMPAC-Connecticut State University

Young Writer
s Competition




Entry Form

Contact Us

Thank You Note

Back to In the News

Alexandra Regenbogen and Emily Dykes
are featured in the FIRST SEEN, OUT ON THE TOWN
section of Connecticut Magazine, October 04 edition

Dykes and Regenbogen won the top statewide prose and poetry prizes in June during the seventh annual IMPAC-Connecticut State University Young Writers competition. They each earned $2,000. Their works will be considered for publication in Connecticut Review, the renowned literary journal published by the CSU System.

Enter now to win $1,000 prizes for prose and poetry

Click here for 2005 entry form:

IMPAC-Connecticut State University
Young Writers Trust
231 Beach St.
Litchfield, CT 06759
*800-814-6931   *Fax 860-567-9119

[email protected]



   The IMPAC-Connecticut State University Young Writers Program awards $1,000 prizes to poets and prose writers in each of Connecticut's eight counties.

  The top poets and writers from that group each earn another $1,000 as state champions in their respective categories. In addition, a pilot program for writers of French and Spanish awards a total of $1,000 in prizes to competitors from Litchfield and Wamogo High Schools. Discussions are continuing to expand that program.

   The program has given $100,000 to young writers since 1998.

   Students must be ages 13-18 during the school year to be eligible. The next entry deadline is Feb. 1, 2005 postmark for the statewide competition.

   Entry forms have been mailed to public, private and parochial schools this fall. Entry forms will also be available at all state police barracks. State police barracks are located in Tolland, Danielson, Montville, Colchester, Westbrook, Hartford, Bethany, Windsor Locks, Southbury, North Canaan, Bridgeport and Litchfield. Forms are also available on-line at:

It is expected that many libraries, businesses, media outlets, and writers and arts organizations will also post the entry forms and this announcement.

    IMPAC Chairman James B. Irwin Sr. endowed the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award in 1994. At 100,000 Euros it is the world's largest prize for a single work of fiction. Irwin started the Young Writers Program in 1997.  IMPAC and the CSU System formed a partnership to bring the awards statewide four years ago.

*  The IMPAC-Connecticut State University Young Writers Trust is a non-profit foundation affiliated by Charter with the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and classified by the IRS as a 501 C (3) Public Charity.


Top of Page